GEA-NZ Dimensions

GEA-NZ has 8 Dimensions; four core dimensions and four governing dimensions as shown in the GEA-NZ dimensions diagram below. For more detail on the dimensions refer to the GEA-NZ Context.

Four core dimensions


This dimension provides the structure for understanding the business of government. At an All-of-Government level, it describes the customers and the different channels they use to interact with the government, the common products and services provided to the citizens, and the different roles, skills and processes needed. At an agency level, the GEA-NZ Business reference model describes the agency’s customer personas and customer experiences, how the customer interacts with the agency, and what products and services the agency provides to their customers. To cover these aspects it has 5 sub-dimensions:

  • The Customer sub-dimension focuses on the customer aspects of the business, those people and organisations receiving services from government. The Channel sub-dimension focuses on the channels customers use to obtain services from agencies.
  • The Product and Service sub-dimension describes the products and services government delivers internally and externally.
  • The People and Organisation sub-dimension focuses on agency, sector and government structure and on third-party stakeholders in the delivery of government services.
  • The Process sub-dimension describes the processes agencies and government use to deliver products and services. It includes processes, activities, events, tasks and coordination that will be needed to support generic agency functions as well as federated service delivery, and customer centric service delivery.

Data and Information

This dimensions purpose is to discover, describe, manage, share and reuse information within and across agencies. It describes best practices and artefacts that can be generated from the data architectures. It also provides a data and information governance framework, and maturity assessment.

Applications and ICT Services

This dimension describes the business applications, including ‘Software as a Service’, that support the business processes of the enterprise. It includes core business applications, COTS corporate applications, software components (websites, databases, email, and other supporting software) and end user computing applications. At an all-of-government level, it facilitates a common understanding of application assets and ICT services, identifying opportunities for sharing, reuse, and consolidation or renegotiation of licenses. It also assists the GCIO assurance function by identifying application assets that will require maintenance or renewal within the business planning horizon. At an agency level, it describes the application assets and ICT services of the agency, and helps application portfolio management. Mapping their current and planned Information Systems to the Application and ICT Services Reference Taxonomy categories should help agencies and sectors identify opportunities for sharing, reuse, and consolidation or renegotiation of licenses.


This dimension describes the technology infrastructures that support the application and business processes of the organisation. It may include insourced, outsourced or cloud capabilities. It includes domains for facilities, platforms, networks, and end user devices. At an all-of-government level, the Infrastructure dimension guides the development of maintenance of common capabilities and the sharing and reuse of infrastructure to reduce costs, increase interoperability across agencies, support efficient acquisition and deployment, and enable greater access to information across organisations. At an agency level, the Infrastructure dimension describes the infrastructure assets of the agency, and helps ICT asset management. It also helps agencies plan their migrations away from internally owned and managed infrastructure to cloud and common capability of offerings as required in the ICT Strategy and Action Plan.

Four governing dimensions

Strategy, Investment, and Policy

This dimension provides linkage between the architecture and strategic goals, policies and investments. At an All-of-Government level, it sets out government goals, objectives and roadmaps to achieve the AoG vision. At an agency level, it sets out the agency’s goals and objectives defined in the agency’s Four Year Plan, Information Systems Strategy Plan, and Statement of Intent.

Governance and Performance

This dimension describes governance models and performance frameworks and related metrics that apply across other dimensions of GEA-NZ. At an agency level, it sets out the improvement plan and Governance and Performance measurements to optimise their services towards internal and external customers, to improve their collaboration with other agencies and 3rd parties, and to improve their information and technology assets.


This dimension includes the information and technology standards base for the NZ government.

Security and Privacy

This dimension gives an enterprise architecture context to the relevant security and privacy requirements for government agencies, and other guideline artefacts, that form the eco-system (or life-cycle) for ICT security and privacy.

Page last updated: 08/12/2017